History & Visitor Program
First gathered in 1636 as a branch of First Church in Boston, this congregation was established in 1639. This magnificent building was completed in 1828 and is the fourth meeting house of the Church.
The United First Parish Church building, considered the finest existing Greek Revival church in New England, is a National Historic Landmark. It was designed by noted architect Alexander Parris, who also designed Quincy Market in Boston.
United First Parish Church, once known as The Church of the Presidents, and Old Stone Temple, has a rich history in both the social and religious community.
Our church is the burial place of presidents John Adams and John Quincy Adams and their wives Abigail Adams and Louisa Catherine Adams.
Church volunteers operate tours of our historical building from April 19th - November 11th.